Like us on Facebook or sign up for weekly emails.

Literally Everything to Do

Hats Off Award

The Main Street Association is very fortunate to have many talented and gifted individuals who have willingly shared their time, energy and creative ideas to make the Main Street Association the strong and vital organization that it is. Beginning in 1996, we have honored the following individuals or corporations with our Hats Off Award.

First Recipients

The first recipients of the Hats Off Award in 1996 for their untiring work on behalf of Main Street were:

  • Norm Berry – K. Norman Berry Architects
  • Martha Cull – Head of the MSA Visitors & Information Center
  • Jack Guthrie – Guthrie/Mayes Public Relations

Recent Recipients

Since that time, the Hats Off Award has been presented to the following community leaders who have had significant impacts on Main Street’s continuing growth:

  • Steve and Amy Trager – Residents of Main Street and Benefactors to Fort Nelson Park (2016)
  • T.J. Oakley – Bristol Bar & Grill Downtown (2015)
  • Carol Hensley – Retired as Main Street Association Executive Director that year (2014)
  • Allan Latts – Evan Williams Bourbon Experience (2014)
  • Jennifer Bielstein and Lee Waters – Managing Director and Artistic Director (respective) of Actors Theatre in honor of their 50th anniversary (2013)
  • Todd Spencer – President of Doe-Anderson (2012)
  • Owsley Brown II – President of Brown-Forman (2011)
  • Phillip Scherer – Commercial Kentucky and former MSA President
  • James Hunt – Louisville Arena Project
  • Family of Cornelius Hubbuch – Founder of Hubbuch & Co. and a founding member of the Main Street Association
  • Barkside “Biff” Roberts – Retired banker and instrumental in the success of the Louisville Science Center
  • Gail Becker – Retired Executive Director of the Louisville Science Center
  • Deb DeLor – Co-owner of DeLor Design Group on Main and Former three-term president of the MSA
  • Laura Lee Brown and Steve Wilson – owners of 21c Museum Hotel on Main and developers of Museum Plaza
  • Marilee Miller – MSA board secretary and owner of Anchorage Press Plays
  • Marlow Burt – first president of the Kentucky Center and former president of the Main Street Association
  • David Karem – Waterfront Development Corp. president
  • Sandy Speer – Executive Director of Actors Theatre
  • Charles Cash – Director of Metro Planning & Design Services
  • David L. Armstrong – Former Mayor
  • Dani Kannapell – Former MSA Executive Director
  • Jim Walters – Bravura Corp.
  • Gary Ulmer – with Louisville Slugger Field and the Brown-Forman Corp.
  • Tom Owen – Metro Councilman and University of Louisville archivist
  • Jack Hillerich – of Hillerich & Bradsby
  • Jerry E. Abramson – Former Mayor
  • Mary Mosely – Galt House Hotel & Suites

The Hats Off Award incorporates a reproduction of the top of one of West Main Street’s art-covered walking sticks (a stack of hats representing Harry Hibbs Hat Company on West Main and created by artist Bob Lockhard) mounted on an actual Main Street brick base.